Leviathan: True Traitor, True Whore

Leviathan: True Traitor, True Whore
Released: 2011 (Profound Lore Records)

The only reason I’m posting this is because Jeff Whitehead supposedly raped his girlfriend with tattoo equipment. I didn’t know the guy did tattoos but he does and apparently used his utensils to brutalize a woman. Fuck this guy. I used to like Leviathan but after hearing this I’m totally turned off by anything associated with him, especially people named Jeff, white people, and heads (of all varieties).

There’s this great blog I read sometimes called Sunny Cellars. Go there to check out the record by clicking here.

I’m still in the moving process so posts will continue to be sporadic. Thanks.

2 responses to “Leviathan: True Traitor, True Whore

  1. I was expecting more,.. just an average album I would say. But I will point out the obvious here; I am sure his girlfriend did something provocative…

  2. I can think of two scenarios here:

    1. Whitehead’s girlfriend did something totally insane or was into the idea until it turned south. I’m sure this would happen when penetrating somebody with tattoo equipment.

    2. Jeff Whitehead is an insane cocksucker rapist who’s a little too obsessed with being metal, believing that raping a woman with his tattoo equipment does one of the following:

    a. Gives him a sexual thrill by dominating a woman.

    b. Brings him and his girlfriend a little closer (after all, raping somebody with the tools of your livelihood will undoubtedly bring her closer to his occupation – in multiple ways).

    c. Will give him notoriety similar to the Norwegian black metal kids who burned down churches and killed people.

    d. Will increase record sales in a dead music market.

    I’m leaning towards the latter. I listened to some of this record and turned it off; I’m not sure whether it’s because of my disdain for Whitehead’s actions or because it’s a mediocre album. I really liked The Blind Wound (I listened to it regularly when it came out and every few months in the following years) but I don’t know about him anymore. Have you seen his tattoo work? It’s not very good. In fact, it’s pretty dismal and uninspired.

    http://farmhouse1983.blogspot.com/2009/09/art-of-jef-whitehead.html

    He also refers to himself as “the genius behind” Leviathan. Anybody who calls themselves a genius on their own website is a dick. It’s a level of self importance I can’t get behind, tainting his music with the aroma of bullshit and pretention. If you’re a genius people will recognize it and Whitehead clearly isn’t.

    Wow, I’ve been totally mean to Whitehead on here, calling him a dick, a cocksucker, and a rapist. Maybe I should rein in my bile soaked comments and focus that energy on making a drab one man black metal band and get Southern Lord to put out my records. =)

Leave a Reply

